Back to Top

2022 OWA Committees


Do you want to . . .

  • Meet new people?
  • Expand your network?
  • Share ideas and broaden your horizons?

We have just the thing for you . . . VOLUNTEER! Become an OWA insider by joining a committee.

Catch the spirit of volunteerism — it will pay big dividends! To express interest in a committee, update your profile and check the appropriate box(es) under Committee Interest.

If you are an OWA member and wish to contact a Committee Chair, please login in order to view their email addresses. Otherwise, if you are not an OWA member and wish to contact a Committee Chair, please contact us so that we may handle your request.

There is a place for you on these committees:

  • Communications & Website Committee
  • Connection & Enrichment Committee
  • Digital Marketing Committee
  • Events Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Professional Development Fund Committee

Communications & Website Committee

Communications & Website Committee

The Communications & Website Committee creates the OWA newsletters, communications pieces, and more. If you love to write, interview industry leaders, research relevant industry topics or have always wanted to try, this group may be great for you.

Chair: Janelle Pauli (VisionWeb)

Vice Chair: Carissa Dunphy (PECAA)
Vice Chair: Angela Gerber (Liberty Sport)

Communications & Website Committee Members: Francesca Barajas (Visionworks), Alicia Brossart (Barberini Sun Solution), Yvette Carranza (Digital Vision, Inc.), Janice Fields (iCoat Company), Nicole Graham (LensCrafters | Luxottica Retail), Nicole Joli (Visionworks), Sandra Mohr (NECO), Courtney Myers (Red Havas), Viviana Ramon (TOC Lunettes Corp), Melissa Rasband (Olympic Peaks Optical), Kristen Reynolds Hopper (VSP), Debra Seigel (VSP Optics), VALERIE SINK (KASPEREK USA OPTICAL), Cristin Sullivan (PERC)

Connection & Enrichment Committee

Connection & Enrichment Committee

Perfect for those who like to share their knowledge and grow professionally from the professional insight provided by fellow members, the Connection & Enrichment Committee is always looking for help creating the One-Minute Mentor blasts.

Co-Chair: Janna Neal (Zyloware)
Co-Chair: Tamara Sanders (EssilorLuxottica)

Vice Chair: Liz Friedfeld (ClearVision Optical)

Connection & Enrichment Committee Members: Beverly Bianes (Pack & Bianes Vision Care part of Total Vision), Pamela Capaldi (CooperVision), Katherine Cruz (Silhouette Optical, Ltd.), Stephanie Espinosa (Luxottica), Rachel Hettler (Essilor of America), Mary Lanning (Zyloware Eyewear), Susan Ludwick (EyeCare Services Partners), Rachel Meyer, EdD, PMP (VSP Vision Care), Karen Michaelson (Neurolens and KARE Consulting, LLC), Sandra Mohr (NECO), Deborah Myres (Visual Inspirations, LLC), Kristen Reynolds Hopper (VSP), Nancy Roellke (VSP), Monica Wheelock (None)

Digital Marketing Committee

Digital Marketing Committee

Do you speak marketing, branding, and social media? Think you can apply your marketing prowess and help the OWA make an even bigger mark on the industry? If so, the Digital Marketing Committee is calling your name. This committee is charged with infusing new excitement into the overall online presence of the OWA, and keeping that excitement alive throughout the year. The goal is to make sure that everyone that interacts with the OWA online gets a real feel for what the association is about and why they should get involved.

Co-Chair: Trudi Charest (Marketing4ECPs)
Co-Chair: Jessica Goebert (Freelance)

Associate Chair: Kerri Ann Raimo (PentaVision, Eyecare Business)

Digital Marketing Committee Members: Kayla Ashlee (Spexy), Mikki Collins (Catch London - The House of Tom Davies), Reagan Colpitts (Safilo Group), Kaitlyn Dias (WestGroupe), Carissa Dunphy (PECAA), Jennifer Gill (Eyetastic Services), Shweta Gupta (Essilor Of America), Kristin Kunkel (Silhouette), Amanda Rights (SimplifEYE Social)

Events Committee

Events Committee

If you love the networking socials and professional development seminars and want to keep these events packed with a wide variety of optical professionals, the Events Committee may be a good fit. The committee organizes networking events, Connection Series professional development seminars, and more, covering the logistics behind the planning of a successful event.

Co-Chair: Laura Dorris (PECAA)
Co-Chair: Courtney Myers (Red Havas)

Vice Chair: Beverly Bianes (Pack & Bianes Vision Care part of Total Vision)

Events Committee Members: Catherine Firman (GPN Technologies), Victoria Hallberg (Safilo Group), Mollie Tavel Kaback (Dr. Tavel Family Eye Care / City Optical), Kayla Worthy (Transitions Optical)

Finance Committee

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee's purpose is to provide financial oversight, financial planning, and growth strategies that will offer the OWA the financial stewardship necessary to fulfill its mission of serving more women in the optical industry.

Chair: Ashley Mills (The Vision Council)

Finance Committee Members: Erika Jurrens (ABB Optical Group), Manali Patel (The Vision Council), Sue Wetzel (VSP)

Membership Committee

Membership Committee

Do you want to be sure that the OWA remains a growing, vibrant group? The Membership Committee develops new ways to keep our membership coming back for more.

Chair: Jan Cory (Independent Industry Consultant)

Vice Chair: Bidisha Rudra (Essilor of America)
Vice Chair: Kathie Sapnas (Luxottica)

Membership Committee Members: Jane Balek (Think About Your Eyes), Kristin Calimlim (Lafont), Carrie DiPasquale (Luxottica), JILL FINE (Liberty Sport), Julie Fischer (VSP), Angela Gerber (Liberty Sport), Rachel Hettler (Essilor of America), Jillian Jobbitt (Luxottica), Marlene Middledorf (Luxottica), Laura Monahan (Luxottica), Liadain Murphy (Ocuco), Dalie Schellen (Opticians Association of Canada), Mollie Tavel Kaback (Dr. Tavel Family Eye Care / City Optical)

Nominating Committee

Nominating Committee

The right leadership can make or break a group, particularly one that is made up solely of volunteers. The Nominating Committee thoughtfully considers each nomination for board positions and encourages members to take a more active role in the directing of the OWA by accepting leadership positions.

Chair: Robyn Crimmins (VSP)

Vice Chair: Tiara Claxton (Thelios)

Nominating Committee Members: Marge Axelrad (Jobson Optical Group), Debra Bulken (Luxottica), Maureen Cavanagh (Prive Revaux), Robyn Crimmins (VSP), Ann E. Englert (Solutions), Lorinda Fraboni (Independent), SHERRIE ROGERSON (CECOP USA)

Professional Development Fund Committee

Professional Development Fund Committee

This committee ensures the future of the OWA by building partnerships with generous benefactors and creating the blueprint for the financial growth of the OWA.

Co-Chair: Lorie L. Lippiatt, OD (MyEyeDr)
Co-Chair: Megan Molony (National Vision)

Vice Chair: Katherine Lauver (GPN Technologies)

Professional Development Fund Committee Members: Talia Bruno (De Rigo Rem), Ann E. Englert (Solutions), Christina Perraud (MyEyeDr.), Amanda Shapiro (Europa Eyewear)