Back to Top

OWA Leadership Scholarship Award


First awarded in 2019, the OWA offers at least two Leadership Scholarships every year to OWA members for an amount of up to $2,000 each. These grants are to be used for the professional and personal development of each recipient and are funded through the Individual Contributor Program donations. The purpose of the Leadership Scholarship is to provide a professional mentoring opportunity, reward those who have volunteered their time and efforts to help the OWA reach its goals, and to promote the founding principles of the organization: to connect, inspire, and lead future leaders.

Beginning in 2020, as an added benefit created exclusively for OWA's Platinum Sponsors, each of these sponsor companies will be asked to select an exceptional female employee who shows promise, dedication, and drive to also receive a Leadership Scholarship.

Nominations for the 2021 scholarships will be accepted October 1-31, 2021 by the OWA Connections and Enrichment Committee. You can nominate a colleague or self-nominate if you yourself are interested in receiving this award. Please note the following criteria:

Award recipients will be announced in November, and will then work with the Connections and Enrichment Committee on details to attend a professional/personal development program in 2021.

Apply Now

2020 Leadership Scholarship Winners

2019 Leadership Scholarship Winners

Janna Neal

Janna Neal, VP of Operations at Zyloware, and Alana Whitaker, Ray-Ban Sales Consultant with Luxottica, are the 2019 Leadership Scholarship recipients, allowing them the opportunity to attend the "Brave Leadership Program" hosted by Kimberly Davis. Davis, author of the book Brave Leadership, was the featured speaker at the OWA's Connection Series luncheon at Vision Expo West in September 2019.

Janna Neal

"I was able to get a sneak peek of what is to come at this conference from Kimberly at the OWA luncheon at Vision Expo West where she literally pulled something out of me! We don't realize how brave we are in life every day — we all have our own superpowers. Leaders should try to bring our the superpower in their teams. I plan to spread the word and bring out the superpower within each woman in my circle."

Alana Whitaker

"I'm incredibly honored to be one of the inaugural Leadership Scholarship recipients with Janna Neal. Kimberly Davis's presentation at the Connection Series at VEW was impactful and has made me even more excited to have the opportunity to attend her seminar in Dallas next year."

Alana Whitaker