Back to Top

OWA Awards


Each year the OWA presents awards to individuals who exemplify a passion for promoting the role of women in our industry. The recipients are honored in New York City during Vision Expo East at the annual Champagne Breakfast and Star Awards Ceremony.

OWA Charities of Choice

Each year, the annual OWA award honorees receive $1000 each to put toward a charity of their choosing. The Charities of Choice selected for 2023 are: If you would like to make an additional contribution to any of these charities, please visit their respective donation pages.

Read below for more information about each honoree's choice.

Pleiades Award

2023 Pleiades Award Recipient — Karen Roberts

Learn More

Karen Roberts's Charity of Choice — The Fred Hollows Foundation

The Fred Hollows Foundation is an international development organization working towards eliminating avoidable blindness and improving Indigenous Australian health. Fred's vision is a world in which no person is needlessly blind and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders exercise their right to good health. The Foundation now works in more than 25 countries and has restored sight to over two and a half million people.

Pyxis Award

2023 Pyxis Award Recipient — Dr. Beverly Bianes

Learn More

Beverly Bianes' Charity of Choice — Mary's Guest House

"The organization I selected to receive a charitable donation is Mary's Guest House. Their mission is to offer refuge, hope, and healing to women who are victims and survivors of human trafficking. Mary's Guest House was founded by the Marist Missionary Sisters on November 7, 2005, in San Diego, one of the top ten areas of human trafficking in the United States. I have been blessed to provide eyecare to these women over the last 8 years. I've witnessed first-hand how this organization helps women cope with their trauma and gives them the tools and resources to regain their self-confidence and integrate back into society."

Pyxis Award

2023 Emerging Leader Award Recipient — Talia Bruno

Learn More

Talia Bruno's Charity of Choice — Whispering Hope

"I have been blessed to be involved with various fundraising efforts for Whispering Hope, a local organization in my county, Forsyth, Georgia. Whispering Hope is a pregnancy center that operates under board-certified physicians and specializes in pregnancy diagnostic services. Their highly trained and respectful medical staff provide professional care to women in need at no charge. They offer free pregnancy testing, free STI testing, and limited ultrasounds in a clean and private atmosphere. Medical professionals and Patient Care Advocates work with women on an individual basis to determine how to best meet their needs. I am thankful for this local organization in my community as it serves mothers and mothers to be."

Check out some of OWA's other awards and previous recipients:

OWA Sponsors


14070 Proton Road
Suite 100
Dallas, TX 75244


972.233.9107 x207

Follow Us

Member Directory

Members can access the Member Directory to Find other OWA members, along with their email, phone, and social media contact information. Login below to access.

Account Login

Copyright © 2007 - 2023 Optical Women's Association. All Rights Reserved